Days like These

Since I have been living in Bangkok I get regular emails about what’s on. I don’t do that much on a regular basis but sometimes I see something that catches my eye.

So one Friday-my only day off- I got up early and was in the pool by 8.30am, followed by my regular exercise workout, had breakfast and was out the door at 10am.

I went to Thai lessons, which is what I normally do on Fridays, and afterwards I took myself to the Queen Sirikit National Convention Centre where they were holding the “Bonjour Fair”- a French and Italian market. These types of events always intrigue me because I think it’s strange that you would get such a thing in Thailand. But Bangkok is an international city so of course these types of events happen here. I still find it strange. (Or maybe it is me who is strange!?) Anyway, I arrived and wandered around, bought a ham quiche and left. I only really went to check it out and as I didn’t have much money to buy all the delicious things I wanted to buy (Umm wine!) I didn’t hang around long.

bonjour
There were lovely offerings to be had- cheese, wine, bread and meats. There were also shoes and perfumes. All the things you would imagine would be at a French and Italian market. You could even try before you buy. I believe this market happens once a year.

bonjour3

bonjour 2

The next thing on my agenda was to go to Lumpini Park to see the Bangkok Street Fair. After a quick trip to do some Christmas shopping, I got to Lumpini and meandered around watching the variety of street performers. There weren’t many people there when I arrived so I could easily watch the performers that were dotted around the park.

There were mime artists and trapeze artists but the best ones were a group of guys dancing and doing the limbo.

They had attracted quite a crowd.

On the way out I stopped to watch a woman doing her piece, which included a toilet and some flowers. I have no idea what that was all about but when she stuck her head in the toilet it reminded me of Renton in “Trainspotting.” I walked out of the park chuckling to myself.

IMG_4699

IMG_4700
On the way back I stopped off at Onnut night market for somtam and a beer. I deserved it after my busy day. I hadn’t been there for a while and, although the prices have gone up a little, it is still a place I enjoy especially when the lady, who sells the somtam, recognized me, and I got a beer by simply mouthing the word “Singha” to the waitress.

I love days like these. They definitely put a smile on my face. 

IMG_4674

About seasiangirl
I am a single woman living in Thailand. I am interested in photography, culture, history, and travel amongst other things and I want to share my thoughts and experiences with you as I turn the pages of my life. I am passionate about all things Asian and I want to express this passion through my tales and photography from Thailand and other countries in the hope that you may be inspired to open your eyes to the world.

2 Responses to Days like These

  1. Thanks for sharing…looks like it was a lot of fun!

Leave a Reply

Being Author

Promotions, reviews and publishing-related services.

La Dépaysée

Feeling Foreign Around The World

Leadership2Mommyship

Exploring life through a leadership and mothership lens.

Sweta Ojha

A Personified Narrative : Defying Reality. Sketching Imageries.

When Am With You... Whitney Ibe Blog!

Inspirational,Motivational, Lifestyle, Daily Living, Positivity, Religion

Global Housesitter x2

#fulltimehousesitters #worldtravellers #loveanimals #lifelearners #musingsaboutlifeandtravel

1000 Places and Memories

Another blog about best places to visit and memories to share

Roth Poetry

Poetry From the Heart!

Travel | Food | Art

Divya Deepak Rao

Harmony Books & Films, LLC

Tired of being ordinary, then here are some tips for becoming extraordinary.

wishes.spardha

#Health#Fitness#Quotations#Random Life

Art Expedition

a painter´s attempt to conquer the great white canvas

DesignTactician.blog

Approach everything with confidence, and a sense of humor.

fromdreamtoplan

She turned her can'ts into cans and her dreams into plans.

Ute smile

Ute's Happy World

paintdigi

--- ALOZADE a. the artist Show you these artistic creations and ideas. Especially in digital painting. ---- L'artiste ALOZADE a. vous propose ces créations et ses idées artistiques. Surtout en peinture digitale.

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

Image Earth Travel

Travel and photography blog by Nilla Palmer. Capturing the globe with words and lens. Come travel the world!

neihtn

Village Teacher - The Book & Photographs

livewithstyle19

live your life in your own way

Enchanted Forests

This Blog is about discovering the magic of forests in every aspect of life from a small plant in a metropolis to the forests themselves

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Savvy Book Writers

How to Publish a Book - Blog with Tips for Writers and Publishers

Lightscapes Nature Photography Blog

Kerry Mark Leibowitz's musings on the wonderful world of nature photography

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

P e d r o L

storytelling the world

Dan Alatorre - AUTHOR

helpful writer ramblings from a disturbed mind just like yours

PhotoRos

Eye eye.

Travel Moments

Adventure and Luxury Travel

simplygiselle

Come for the sass, stay for the class

J M Lysun

The pleasure of creative writing.

SEEN ALONG THE TRAIL

"I am at home among trees." -J.R.R. Tolkien

infinite satori

FOLLOW YOUR GOOSEBUMPS

From Swerve of Shore

A Blog by Photographer Aaron Joel Santos

The Insatiable Traveler

Adventure. Photography. Inspiration. And more!

CEREBRATION

Reflections of a deeper psyche!

Storing Hope

Stories about love to restore hope in people's hearts

move to www.HipsterYogi.com

we have moved to www.hipsteryogi.com

Mac's World

Perspectives from A-Z

Clare's Cosmos

A Galaxy of Thoughts and Creativity

Wooden Horse Media News

Magazine news for anyone wanting to contact them

Melody's Wedding Photography

Bespoke wedding photography tailored to your day

