Diving in the Andaman Sea

A few years ago I went on a three day diving trip off of Ranong, on Thailand’s west coast, in the Andaman Sea. The Andaman Sea is part of the Indian Ocean and touches the shores of Thailand, India, Bangladesh, Burma, Malaysia and Sumatra. This is a very popular diving location due to the colourful coral and many species of tropical marine life-including whale sharks, leopard sharks and manta rays. As part of my TEFL course, I had paid for the four week course, accommodation and a job guarantee which was their full package, and because of this they threw in this diving trip for free.

IMG_3381

My Diving Buddies

I have a love-hate relationship with diving- actually to be fair I have only done it twice- but it is one of those things, for me anyway, that I never look forward to doing but once I have done it I want to go back for more. The problem is that I have terrible trouble with my ears. It is very painful to descend into the watery depths. If I don’t get rushed and can take my time I am fine, but descending too quickly and the pain is just unbearable.
We arrived in Ranong and boarded the “Sea World”- a 25 metre vessel especially equipped for these live-a-board trips. The air conditioned rooms are all located on the main deck providing sea views, sun decks and the communal “saloon” where you can relax watching TV or listening to music. The crew was fantastic, providing delicious meals for us in between dives, and looking after us while we were aboard.

We left Ranong around 9pm and more or less went straight to bed. It took about 8 or 9 hours to reach our first dive site- Koh Chi, 2km off the north east coast of Surin Nua. Imagine waking up and leaving your bunk to be greeted by a huge expanse of blue water, with no noise other than the squawking sea birds. The calm swell of the ocean as you sleepily get into your diving gear. It was rather surreal.

IMG_3407 (2)

Morning on the Ocean

Koh Chi has an average of 15 metres visibility and I saw a lot of marine life- clown fish, trumpet fish, bat fish, trigger fish, puffer fish, parrot fish, moorish idol, and blue starfish. In fact, looking in my dive log, this is the site where I saw the most fish. It’s very calm and relaxed down in that other world. The fish are just hanging out, going about their daily business.

Castle Rock was our next dive and this is where it went pear-shaped for me. This was our second dive of the day at 11.00 am and I only lasted 15 minutes. Actually it was 10 minutes, the last 5 minutes was ascending. I got my diving gear on and my diving buddy told me that there was a strong current at the surface so I had to descend quickly. I tried, I really did, but I had trouble equalising and I was in so much pain. Because I was trying to descend but couldn’t, we got swept away from the dive site. I gave up and signalled to my buddy that I wanted to go up. Reaching the surface I realised my nose was bleeding, and then I started to cry. I think I was a little shaken at how easily we got swept away. Plus the fact that I don’t like giving up on anything.

Before a Dive

Before a Dive

After a Dive

After a Dive

Afterwards, my ears felt like they had the whole ocean in them, but I pulled myself together and decided to stay on board for the next few dives and just watch the others from a “non-nose bleed and painful ears” vantage point.
The next few dives sites- Coral Garden, South East Point, South Point and Hin Kong were all done successfully, even though the nose bleed had put me off somewhat. But it was the last dive, at Richelieu Rock, that was the most stunning, and I was so glad I didn’t sit that one out. There was a bit of a current, but it was mostly calm making the conditions perfect for diving.

Richelieu Rock at Low Tide

Dive Site at Low Tide

Richelieu Rock is located about 200km northwest of Phuket and lies about 18km off the shore of Surin Island. It was discovered by Jacques-Yves Cousteau as a recreational scuba dive site, and it is considered to be one of Thailand’s most iconic dive sites. It is a horse-shoe shaped reef, rising 50 m from the ocean floor to just below the surface at low tide. It attracts all kinds of marine life including scorpion fish, moray eels, and groupers which I saw. Other divers have seen the occasional manta rays and whale sharks passing by as well.

The corals, as well as the fish, are beautiful, ranging in colour from red to purple. And it’s from the colours that the rock gets its name. Some say that it is named after the red robes of Cardinal Richelieu, while others say it is named after a general in the Royal Thai Navy. Either way the colours of the coral are simply stunning. I spent 50 minutes in the company of the rock and its inhabitants. And for those 50 minutes I forgot about painful ears and nose bleeds and enjoyed what I was seeing.

Blue Andaman Sea

Blue Andaman Sea

I never looked forward to any of these dives, but once I was down there I relaxed and started to enjoy myself. If I get the chance again I will go diving again but I am not quite ready to go out and buy my own dive equipment just yet.

A-One Diving
256 Ruengrad Rd, Kaoniwate, Muang – 85000 Ranong – Thailand.

Mobile: +66 (0)81 8915510
Tel: +66 (0)77 832984
Fax: +66 (0)77 830984
Email: info@a-one-diving.com

About gillmorris
I am currently back in the Uk after many years in Thailand. I am interested in photography, culture, history, and travel amongst other things and I want to share my thoughts and experiences with you as I turn the pages of my life. I am passionate about writing and I want to express this passion through my tales and photography from Thailand and other countries in the hope that you may be inspired to open your eyes to the world.

4 Responses to Diving in the Andaman Sea

  1. mihrank says:

    Beautiful Images – the boat on the water – details of the story make a day of joy!

  2. A lovely adventure and experience, well shared. Thank You.

Leave a comment

talkingthailand

Live, Dream, Learn, Discover

bushboys world

Photos of my world and other stuff I hope you will enjoy too. Photos taken with Canon PowershotSX70HS Photos can be purchased.

Touring My Backyard

Rediscovering Singapore

Saania's diary - reflections, learnings, sparkles

Life is all about being curious, asking questions, and discovering your passion. And it can be fun!

northamptonshirewalks

Come & visit our beautiful, unknown County with Northamptonshire's Premier & Most Friendliest Walking Site & Group

40thousandkm

: around the world :

A Quest for the Uncliche

Dream. Explore. Learn. Repeat.. Let's traverse on the paths less taken and explore whole new worlds

the orang-utan librarian

welcome to the virtual library

LISMORE PAPER

Graphic Design with a Vintage Flair

3cstyle.wordpress.com/

Fun, Polished Sustainable Fashion and Good Vibes

The Arty Plantsman

Plants, Botanical Art, Humour and Random Stuff by Darren Sleep

Cardinal Guzman

Encyclopedia Miscellaneous - 'quality' blogging since August 2011

Zimmerbitch

age is just a (biggish) number

Up Up And Away

Travels and Places

KASHiVOLOGY

Trying to find beauty in the dying

Annika Perry

A writer influenced by her Swedish heritage and Yorkshire upbringing

Mohamad Al Karbi

محمد القربي

TripDukaan

We Plan, You Travel

Life at No. 22

Suzanne's Life and Travel Musings from New Zealand and Beyond

1000 Places and Memories

Live, travel, explore!

Roth Poetry

Poetry From the Heart!

Art Expedition

a painter´s attempt to conquer the great white canvas

Ute smile

Ute's Happy World

paintdigi

THE ARTIST ALOZADE A. IS LOOKING FOR ALL BEAUTY IMAGES IN THE WORLD, FOR YOUR TRIP AND FOR YOUR PLEASURE. AS WELL AS ARTISTIC WORKS, DESIGNS AND HIS IDEAS ON ART

⚡️La Audacia de Aquiles⚡️

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

Image Earth Travel

imageearthtravel.com

neihtn

Books & Photographs

livewithstyle19

live your life in your own way

Enchanted Forests

This Blog is about discovering the magic of forests in every aspect of life from a small plant in a metropolis to the forests themselves

Lightscapes Nature Photography Blog

Kerry Mark Leibowitz's musings on the wonderful world of nature photography

P e d r o L

storytelling the world

Travel Moments

Adventure and Asian Travel

simplygiselle

Come for the sass, stay for the class

J M Lysun

The pleasure of creative writing.

SEEN ALONG THE TRAIL

"I am at home among trees." ~ J.R.R. Tolkien

from swerve of shore

by aaron joel santos

The Insatiable Traveler

Travel inspiration, stories, photos and advice